KNUN gives county governments’ ultimatum of four days to honour CBA agreement

Kenya National Union of Nurses (KNUN) has issued a strike notice over unimplemented Collective Bargaining Agreement (CBA) entered into with the government.

Union’ Secretary General Seth Panyako (Picture Above), has said if county governments do not implement the Return to work formula dated 2nd November 2017, then they would down their tools from February 4.

“In the return to work formula which was signed on 2nd November 2017 after the country experienced the longest nurse’s strike only three counties have honored the agreement, which are Machakos, Mombasa and Migori counties,” he said.

He said nurses in the three counties will not proceed on industrial action.

The union revealed that counties which had overlooked the CBA would be the ones affected by the strike.

The Counties to be affected are Embu, Nyandarua, Kiambu, Garissa, Nyeri, Samburu, Elegeyo-Marakwet, Kwale, Kirinyaga, Marsabit and Mandera.

Others are Trans-Nzoia, Tharaka nithi, West Pokot, Mathare National Hospital, Wajir, Homa bay, Murang’a, Taita-taveta, Kisumu, Kisii, Nairobi and Kitui.

However, those that had pledged to make payments by the end of January and February 2019 were assured that nurses would report to work.

These counties are; Bomet, Baringo, Bungoma, Busia, Isiolo, Kakamega, Kericho, Kilifi, Lamu, Laikipia, Meru, Nakuru, Nandi, Narok, Siaya, Makueni, Turkana, Nyamira and Uasin gishu.

Leave a Reply